A sad story means so much

Today I finished reading Tolkien’s ‘Children Of Hurin’ and it started me thinking about how important tragic fiction is. Our myths are full of tragedy, but little of popular fiction seems to be. Why does our culture supply us with untold happy ending scenarios? Are we to blame the harsh reality shown on our news? Perhaps so.

Two weeks ago my children watched ‘Bridge to Terabithia.’ It was a moving film which brought my son to streaming tears. The death of one of its main characters touched him greatly, and gave us plenty of fuel for conversations and reflections together. A past reading of the classic fairy tale ‘The Gingerbread man’ allowed for the creation of a similar space too.

As we walk in, talk about and observe Nature’s seasonal cycle around us death is not an uncommon sight in my, or any, ‘outdoor’ children’s life. But it seems to me that fictional tragedies, where they can become more emotionally involved, are so much more meaningful.

Society may think I’m just morbid, although honestly I don’t feel I am, it’s just that I feel that such tales need to be shared and learnt from.

Leave a Reply

