Wood Walking

The article posted below really thrilled me to the bone, it gives the notion of ‘making time to smell the flowers’ yet another level of depth. πŸ™‚

Wood walking is a joy, that many, including me, do not experience enough. Could it be that an increasing recognition of its health benefits will push us into the open more? Although, in truth, the thought of the nature’s beauty becoming a packaged commodity, i.e. a therapy, doesn’t inspire.

Another thought that springs to mind is the thought that it has been at the cost of some of our woodlands fauna that wood walking is now considered a peaceful past-time.

If a European wood was again inhabited by numerous boar, wildcat, wolf, lynx, bear and wolverine, would the idea of a woodland walk be so tranquilizing ? Hopefully, time will once again tell its story. πŸ™‚

7 Comments

  1. treegod said,

    18 November, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Don’t know if you’ve seen the movie Grizzly Man by the director Werner Herzog? Its all about Timothy Treadwell, a “protector” of bears that eventually got killed by one.

    I wrote an ecopsychological-based review about it here; http://thegroveofquotes.wordpress.com/2008/10/07/grizzly-man-and-boundaries-in-ecopsychology/
    Looking at basic facts like where therapy stops and where danger starts lol.

    Still, I live in the Prades mountains of Spain. No bears or wolves, so it’s relatively quiet. But you still have to be a bit careful with the wild boar and poisonous snakes. I usually don’t act too stealthily so that any animals like that know I’m coming and know to run, lol.

  2. Michael Bark said,

    18 November, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    No I haven’t seen Grizzly Man, thanks for bringing it to my attention. I’ve just read your review, you have a really thought provoking blog. Thanks for taking the time to write it. I’ve linked it to this blog, so I will visit often. πŸ™‚

    Yes, the woods closest to my home our free of bears and wolves. Though I’m glad to say that I’ve heard that Wolf packs I getting closer again. Whether this is true or not, I can’t honestly say. At the moment we have to drive and trek alittle before we encounter bear country, I haven’t seen one yet.

    The woodland about about us hear, is the land of the Boar and Roe Deer. I have still to see a boar. My home doesn’t back up on to the woods, a friends does, and like you he too must (try to) protect his small family crop.

  3. treegod said,

    20 November, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Thanks for linking it. I’ve put your in my favourites.

    I’ve saw wild boar last year but not this year. Smelt them, heard them and seen where they’ve been digging up earth to eat. Where I live, roe deer have been reintroduced a few years ago. They’re flourishing and I’ve occasionally seen them. Even saw one VERY up close. I was hiding behind a pallet with my girlfriend and two dogs.
    There are wolves and bears in Spain, but more to the north.

  4. Michael Bark said,

    20 November, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Yes, Bears and Wolves are a little to the North East of us here, across the boarder in Slovenia. Unfortunately Bear hunting is allowed in Slovenian, the quota for 2007 was 100. I don’t know the quota for this year. The government has received a lot of criticism over this.

    Roe Deer, no not so close up. 😦 I need to work on my Druid Ninja skills a little more. πŸ™‚

  5. treegod said,

    28 November, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Just been reading a book “The World Without Us” by Alan Weisman. It was quite a “monstrous” world once upon a time. So much so that the animals we’re talking about seem quite tame! When humans left Africa, we came across a lot of megafauna, but it wasn’t adapted to humans as are African megafauna (elephants, hippos, giraffes etc) to they suffered and the biggest ones went extinct. It’s certainly a VERY different world. And there I am concerned about little wild boar lol πŸ˜‰

  6. Michael Bark said,

    7 December, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Thanks for the title Treegod. It sounds like a fascinating read. I still haven’t spied wild boar yet, my biggest sighting today being a tiny spider. No concern in the least!! πŸ™‚

  7. Michael Bark said,

    7 January, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Yesterday, while in a local cave for a celebration of La Befana, I saw a skeleton on display of a species of bear that was once prolific in this region – the Cave Bear. They walked the land and rested in the region’s many caves at the time of the Neanderthals, they perhaps even worshipped by them. They were much larger than the Brown Bear still found in Slovenia and lived on a largely vegetarian diet. Lucky Neanderthals!!


Leave a Reply

